Wednesday, April 24, 2013

A little Rant....

So I read a post the other day that really struck a nerve with me.  It said (roughly) that the "life" we lead is not glamorous and we are sad in the off season, we only post pictures of ourselves and our food during prep and then we re-post them months later because we are unhappy with how we look when not on stage.  I mean really.  The person that wrote that is obviously in this for the wrong reason.  I post pics all the time of my prep and off season. I am NOT sad in my off season, I am strong as FUCK and I love it. Do I have extra pounds on me YES but I use those pounds to my advantage.  Are there times when I can't fit into pants sure, but I'm not ready to slit my wrists because of it.  I am in this to be the best me I can be.  I am a wife and a mom of 4 kids.  I am in this for me as well as them.  I want them to see that if you work for something and are dedicated to yourself, anything is possible.  I started bodybuilding late in life.  I started in 2008 and I was 36.  I am now 40 and in the best shape of my life!  I feel sorry for the person who wrote the original post because she obviously is the one feeling that way.  I am not.  I wish it wasn't directed at us in general as women in the sport because we are all not the same.

Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Getting Closer

Well peeps, I went to the Orlando Europa last week/weekend and had a blast.  I went with one of my best friends Jillian Reville who was competing in WPD and was so happy to be there with her.  She did great and she took 5th place.  1 pt closer to the Olympia :)  It really was exciting to be back in the thick of the action, it's where I love to be.  I saw another friend Courtney King win her bikini class and take a spot at the Olympia.  It made me REALLY READY to get back on that stage and rock it out!  I have check in's tomorrow with coach and I'm hoping he likes what I've done in the last week.  I'm down to 133.5 and maybe even less tomorrow.  My body has completely changed.  I had 4 people say something to me at the gym yesterday.  One said "wow, you've really leaned down, like even in the past 2 weeks".  One said "this is the best you've ever looked"  One said, "wow, her back is huge" and the other one said "you look ready!"  So, needless to say after being at the Europa AND the compliments I am READY TO XCEL!!!

2 WEEKS AND 3 DAYS PEOPLE... OMG!!!!  WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Saturday, April 13, 2013

Managing my emotions....

Well, it happened.  I must admit it took longer this time to happen BUT it did!!  Today was not a good day for me.  I had a breakdown BIG TIME.  I am overwhelmed with everything I have on my plate right now and I just broke.  You can only stretch a rubber-band so far before it snaps!  I had a huge fight with a terriffic friend and ended up screaming and storming out.  I did go back and we both cried and hugged and we're ok now but the pressure of all I have to do go the better of me and I REALLY over stepped my bounds today.  I HATE feeling that way!!!  HATE IT.  Being a Mom trying to compete for reasons more than just competing, I want this to be my career, my life, my thing.  I have a husband 4 kids, 3 dogs, a house, cars a friend living with me in my basement, my prep which consists of double cardio and lifting (and I only get 2 hrs in the child center for my kids so I have to split it up), my son as Asperger's and we struggle daily, he's in Tae Kwon Do 3 times a week, my daughter is in gymnastics, my oldest daughter is going thru emotional issues and is seeing a therapist, my father in law passed away in Dec. and now my husband has no parents (his Mom passed in 2006), we have to empty his home that he lived in for 38 years and it's tough emotionally on my husband, my Aunt had breast cancer and had a mastectomy (she got her 5yr all clear thank God) but lost her job and now broke her ankle and has 8 pins in it, my mom is obese and so is my father, my mom has raging type 2 diabetes and had a lap band procedure but can't keep anything down and therefore isn't losing any weight.

Someone please...... help.......  I am losing my mind!!!!!!!!  4 weeks and I have to be on stage..

Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Check in time..... 5.5 wks out

Ok so pics went to Coach this morning and I feel good about them.  I'm currently 146, lost 4 lbs last week which is great.  I had 2 great weeks in a row, then the week before last I didn't lose anything so I was glad to see a 4lb loss this week.  5.5 weeks to go.  I'm getting excited.  Sent in my NPC Registration card and printed out my entry form.  Once I send that in it'll become REAL.

I can honestly say that this is the easiest prep ever.  My Coach Fakhri Mubarak has fed me so well that I have had minimal cravings nor the feeling that I want to cheat.  I love it.  I really can't believe I have NO cravings.  I mean ok, would I like some peanut butter, sure ;)  That being said, I'm hoping the next 5.5 weeks is as easy as the past 12 weeks.

In other news my son Ben is in his first ever Tae Kwon Do Tournament this weekend and we're so very proud of him.  He has Asperger's Syndrome so for him to get out there this weekend is a great accomplishment for him.  Please support Autism awareness this month.  Light it up BLUE :)